Important Links:

NCCU Alumni Association – Raleigh/Wake Chapter Holds Scholarship Reception

NCCU Alumni Association – Raleigh/Wake Chapter Holds Scholarship Reception

Scholarships were awarded to five Wake County Students on Thursday, May 25, 2017 at the Chavis Community Center.  Martha Kearney, Chairman of the Scholarship Committee welcomed the scholarship recipients, their families, guests, and alumni and Cliff Lavenhouse followed with prayer.  Cynthia S. Simms introduced Dr. Monica Leach, Sr. Associate Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Management and Academic Affairs. Dr.  Leach brought greetings and remarks on behalf of NCCU Interim Chancellor – Dr. Johnson O. Akinleye.  She urged the students to remember the family and community from which they came, participate in clubs, and seek internships, and study abroad opportunities.

Mrs. Simms also introduced Dr. Dudley E. Flood, Retired Administrator State of North Carolina and NCCU Alumnus Class of 1954.  Dr. Flood offered words of encouragement to the future Eagles. He challenged the students to ask themselves, “Why am I going to North Carolina Central University”? and stated that they must have a sense of purpose, think of something you like to do so much that you would do it for free, and associate with people who respect what it is that you do.

Vernice Whyms introduced Cornikeya Clay, a 2016 Scholarship Recipient.  Miss Clay shared with the students that they must go to class, manage their time well, study hard, and seek help when needed.  She also offered to serve as a mentor to them.

The scholarship award letters and certificates were distributed by Brenda Asbury, Leonard King, and Mable Wright.  Dr. Leach gave each student a gift bag from the University.  Following the presentations each student gave remarks to the audience and Paul Bitting, President of the Alumni Association offered congratulations on behalf of the Raleigh/Wake Chapter. A reception followed the singing of the Alma Mater.

Pictured L-R:  President Paul Bitting, Raleigh Wake Chapter; Kimani Ash Atkinson, Enloe Magnet High School; Kayla Channel Hammond, East Wake High School; Olivia Ta-Tanesha Harris, Garner Magnet High School; Khalil Tamir Green, Wake Young Men’s Leadership Academy; Brianna Nicole Terrell, Wake Forest High School; and Chairman Martha Kearney, Raleigh/Wake Chapter Scholarship Committee.